Bath & Body / Mid End

‘Tis the Season for Self Tanner, and Here’s My New Favorite

Two things:

1. My Taiwan travel post is coming this week.  I’m very excited.  I know most of you are probably thinking, she went on vacation?  When was this again?  It’s been a long time.

2. I was going to save my ‘Tis the Season title for Christmas, but I got impatient.  So if you’re wondering whether this is some kind of festive self tanner, well it’s not.

There are times when I wake up and want to rock the Snow White look, and then there are days when I wake up and want to transform into a glamorous bronze goddess.  This is were sunless tanner comes in.  Last summer, I fell in love with Lavera, waxing poetic on how realistically I could fake that ‘been out in the sun (not holed up in front of my computer watching Real Housewives of Beverly Hills) glow.’  That tube which still holds a special place in my heart, has now been pushed aside for my new sunless tanner of choice.  You all know how I love to make my life easier.  Enter Fake Bake Flawless.

It’s a quick-dry liquid, which made me a little nervous, but this is actually a fantastic thing.  You spray it on, rub it in, and you’re good to go.  No prancing around your room pants-less waiting for it to dry.  The other thing I love about this is that it contains an indicator color, meaning you get an instant tint and you can see if you’re making any mistakes.  The indicator color will rinse off in the shower, so don’t freak out, it’s not your tan going down the drain, just the surface color.  It’s also got a coconut-beachy type of scent, not the chemical, nose-curling smell I sometimes associate with self tanners.  One application imparts a subtle color, but I can build it up over a few days.

super pale

not quite as pale

The thing I really want to stress about self tanner is that it doesn’t have to be a production. Sure, you can exfoliate and prep and you should probably shave your legs (I didn’t, but then I’m one of those lucky freaks who can get by shaving their legs once a month).  All of the above will probably make things easier (here’s a full list of things you can do to ensure flawless application, and more tricks here), but that does not mean that you must do all of them.  And look, if you mess up, wear jeans or hide in your house.  It’s fine.  Just last night, I decided I wanted to have tan legs to go with my white shorts.  So I spent 2 minutes putting this all over my legs and then promptly crawled into bed.  That was it.

A bottle of Fake Bake Flawless retails at $25.  Included in the box are a pair of gloves and an awesome tanning mitt (makes things even easier than they already are).  Also, you can walk around with the mitt on one hand and do things like this, which is great:

This is paraben free.  You can get it at ULTA and on Fake Bake’s website, among other places, and I recommend that you do.  My one complaint is that it does seem to fade quicker than my Lavera tanner (I give it 2.5 days), but a little product goes a long way, and a bottle should last forever.  That’s an accurate estimate, by the way.

Full Disclosure: The product in this post was submitted for editorial consideration and review.  For more information, please see my disclaimer.

24 thoughts on “‘Tis the Season for Self Tanner, and Here’s My New Favorite

  1. Sometimes I too feel the need to bronze up a little. Not this year though. I give up. I just can’t stand the smell of fake tanners any more.
    The mitt does make a nice puppet though. I can appreciate that! 🙂 I’d add some googley eyes though. And a tongue.

    • I feel ya. When self tanner actually smells like self tanner…it’s not good. LOL right? It’s a multipurpose mitt! Will consider your suggestions about the googley eyes and tongue.

  2. Festive self tanner. AHAHAHA! For some reason, that made me laugh!

    Also, you hit the nail right on the head when you said sometimes you just want to look like a bronze goddess… Yeah, that’s me right now. Except I wanted to do the whole sitting by a pool and tanning up (using SPF, of course!) thing, which isn’t happening coz my schedule hates me. So I went and got myself a self tanner and I am currently waiting for my legs to dry completely… Yeah, I don’t miss this part.

    Also, you can get by with shaving once a month? ONCE a month??? I kind of hate you right now… -_-

    • hahahha glad someone (besides me) is laughing. Yeah, I don’t have time for that…which is why this is AWESOME. Which self tanner are you usingright now?

      Uh huh, just my legs though. I have friends who have never shaved their legs or under their arms and I swear you can’t even tell.

  3. Oooh, I can definitely see the difference! Thanks to Puerto Rico though, I’m super super dark. I quite like it though, cause I just end up staring at my arms and legs for a couple minutes amazed at that bronzey glow. It’s nice.

    I’m quite jealous that you only need to shave once a month. SUCH A PAIN IN THE BUTT BUTT! Lucky you! I see lots of shoe boxes in the background of your mitt photo — buy any shoes lately? 😉

    • That’s good! Sometimes I worry it’s just in my head LOL. Your vacation sounds incredibly fabulous, can’t wait to hear more about it 🙂

      Yeah I mean, I used to shave every day and then I was like ….. why am I shaving my leg hair when it hasn’t even grown back yet? Does not make sense. Have to shave my underarms like normal people though, if that makes it any better! Those are my mom’s shoeboxes hahahah. I did buy a couple pairs of sandals though, I was looking through my collection and realized I didn’t actually own any flat sandals.

  4. Do you know if this transfers onto your bed sheets or pillows? I was thinking about trying the Fake Bake 60 minute tanner but I’ve been hearing a lot of buzz about this one. The mitt looks really good too.

    x

    victoriaeightyfive.com

    • Not that I can tell! I went to bed right after applying this to my legs, and I sleep on white sheets with little pink and green flowers. Did not see any tanner transfer, so yay! Let me know what you think if you try this 🙂

  5. Oh. my. goodness. I need this!!! I’ve been looking for a tanner that doesn’t take forever to dry or feel sticky even after 15 minutes of me dancing in my room naked to pass the time haha. And the fact that I can use Ulta coupons is awesome. Plus, we have a similar skin tone so I know it will work. Thanks MM!

    • Get itttttt. Nowwww. The nonexistent wait time really is the best thing ever. I used to think 15 minutes wasn’t THAT bad, but now that I’ve tried this…well, why wait 15 minutes if you don’t have to wait at all?

      Use those coupons! And let me know how you like it 🙂

  6. Arrggh, you’re just like my mom! My mom doesn’t have ANY hair on her legs. I, however, must have gotten my hair-growth genes from my dad’s side. So jealous of you right now!

    Oh, and I am a tanning virgin! I have ALWAYS been so scared of self-tanner for some reason–but I recently decided to just get it over with and have some fun with it (to be chronicled in my blog of course) so wish me luck! This Fake Bake seems so easy to use, I’m sorry I didn’t hear about it before I gathered all my self-tanning goodies

    • My mom literally doesn’t have any hair on her legs…I shave them once a month but she’s never shaved her legs at all. Self tanner is like risotto! People make it sound super scary, which I suppose it can be, but then you try it and realize it’s doable. And also, applying self tanner is a whole lot easier than cooking risotto (and I don’t know where I’m going with this), so DO IT, basically. Excited to read about your self tanner adventures! Which ones have you used so far?

  7. Bahaha, MM, you are hilarious! I am also super pale, and one summer awhile ago I tried out the Jergens self tanner but just couldn’t bring myself to do it regularly enough to actually see any results (I am incurably lazy). After seeing some pictures of my legs recently, though, methinks I should perhaps try and mitigate my Casper-ness with some product…so thanks for this review!

    • It’s so gratifying to hear that hahaha. Mostly I just get stares and head shakes 😛 Ohh is that the gradual everyday one? Yeah, I don’t have that kind of patience, plus I change my mind way too often for that to work. Hope it was helpful, let me know if you try this!

  8. Haha…love your estimate! 😉 The hubs is like you. Fair as can be. I on the other hand, tan easily. He and I wish we could switch complexions sometimes. So, it’s safe to say that I probably don’t need a self tanner. BUT I adore the natural color this gives you! 😀

    (See what I mean about those robes?!)

    • It’s weird because I used to tan SO easily. I’d go out in the sun for a day and come back 2 shades darker. Now I go running (ok I call it running, other people would probably shake their heads at me) in the sun and get…paler? LOL. Yes!! I think you first told me about those a year ago, maybe longer? And I was like oh, how good can a robe be, really?

      I’m gathering my giftcards as we speak 😉

  9. Whoa, sexy dress MM!! YOWZA!! And oh yea – cool self-tanner 😛

    Can’t say I’m much for self-tanner *oddly* LOL – but cool that the technology has improved and you can get ones that both quick-dry and smell pretty!!

  10. Nice legs! 😉

    I think you’re my mom’s dream daughter. She always wanted me to retain that paleness which I lost at like age 7, LOL. I don’t subscribe to either too pale/too bronze – I tan relatively quickly and either state is just kind of meh anyway. But this post made me laugh and I’m glad you found something you like!

    • Thanks Liz! I’ve been mindlessly snacking and not exercising much lately so they’re getting a bit chubz, but I’m working on it. LOL my mom always gives me disapproving looks when I break out the self tanner. Glad you found it funny!

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

