Bargain Buys / Bath & Body

Swiping From Her Stash: Why It Never Hurts to Ask (A B&BW Body Cream Review)

Sneaking my mother’s Triple Moisture Body Cream into my bag.  Very, very candid.

My mom has a B&BW obsession.  I don’t know when it started, but this is one of the things  I can safely say she did not pick up from me.  My love affair with the store ended in 7th grade (although I do still buy their candles), but while nosing around one of my mother’s recent orders (I’m curious!), I spied this cheery looking tube of body cream, which according to the receipt, she purchased for a bargain $3.50 at the Semi-Annual Clearance.

Hmmm, I thought, that does look like it would make a fantastic XXXXL hand cream.

I took a sniff, and…wow, what is that?  Joy made tangible?  It reminds me of Marc Jacobs Daisy, not in terms of actual scent, more the aura.  The aura of joy so exuberant that it becomes unbelievably annoying if you use it every day for a month, but applied every once in awhile, makes you feel breezy and happy and carefree.

I wanted to introduce it to our home, to be polite and all, so I took it on a walk.  Somewhere along the way, a little bit slipped into my hands, and I decided it was meant to be.

“Hey mom,” I said, “You know how you just ordered a billion Triple Moisture Body Creams?  Mind if I help myself to this one?”

“Mmrrphh,” she said, or it might have been, “Yes dear, go ahead.”  I don’t know.  I was too busy admiring my new best friend.

The texture feels luxuriously thick, but less moisturizing than my L’occitane handcreams.  Still, it’s a good one to keep in my purse and reapply throughout the day.  The scent is a nice pick for summer, and the size of the bottle makes for a good conversation piece (oh this?  Why, it’s just my extremely large hand cream.  Haven’t you ever seen them before?)

B&BW lists the notes as “juicy red apple, flirty daffodils and fresh pomegranate.”  The Triple Moisture Body Cream is no longer available online in this scent, but there are some other lovely options to choose from.  I recently picked up a tube of Paris Amour, free with my candle purchase.  An 8 oz tube retails for $12.50, although they do make a smaller size, which would probably work better as a purse-friendly hand cream.

But where’s the fun in that?

26 thoughts on “Swiping From Her Stash: Why It Never Hurts to Ask (A B&BW Body Cream Review)

  1. Haha that’s it. I am putting my big-ass bottle of Cake Milkmade hand cream in my purse. I want a conversation starter too.
    I only buy the candles and hand soaps from BBW lately. I should check out the new scents-maybe something will appeal!

    • DO IT. We can start a trend 😛 Which candles have you purchased recently? I’m loving the clean scents from their American Boardwalk (I think that’s what it’s called?) collection.

  2. LOL aren’t moms the best 😛 I’m with you on B&BW though, I gave up on that place around 8th grade when I started getting migraines from the giant cloud made up of that cucumber-melon scent that was hung over my school like a fog (EVERYONE and their mothers smelled like this. It literally made me gag after a while). This one sounds nice though–I do love me some Marc Jacobs Daisy…er–the aura, that is. I may have to take a sniff at this! 😛

    • hehe they really are! Yeah, it’s a struggle walking into that store at times…and I HATE HATE HATE cucumber melon oh my god. I briefly liked it in my early middle school days, but I can’t take that smell anymore. LOL yes, if you like that aura, give this a try if you can still find it.

  3. Well, it does sound absolutely lovely! I’ve liked the B&BW body creams that I tried before, but I just haven’t been as into the brand lately :p. Perhaps I’ll go back in and see what new stuff they have.

  4. I never really got into B&BW, I guess because fragranced products sizzle my skin so what’s the point? But you can’t beat the fact that you can buy yummy-smelling hand creams like this on the cheapy-cheap! I used to periodically torture myself with products like this till I finally got smart and eradicated all fragrance from my life (except in shampoo/conditioner, and actual perfume). But dammit…….I sure do miss JOY IN A PACKAGE!

  5. HAHAHA! I love you, MM. And your mom. ❤

    B&BW still have some decent scents. I'll forever be a fan of Warm Vanilla Sugar (during winter) and I really like the White Citrus hand soap. I still mourn the discontinuation of the Honeysuckle scents. You know, we Canadians don't have that Daffodil one that you've pilfered. I don't understand why they can't keep these things uniform across one continent!

    • She is the best 😀 hahahah I just bought a couple of the White Citrus soaps for college! And Wild Honeysuckle was my favorite too, I really don’t understand why they had to discontinue that. I went back in store and the SA was trying to convince me that Butterfly Flower was Wild Honeysuckle in disguise. I don’t think so.

  6. I’m not a b&bw fan but I can understand the obsession….huge variety, all pleasant everyday scents, pretty packaging, catchy names, low prices…that tube of wild apple daffodil (I just love the name!!) looks adorable!

  7. Lol this is a wonderful post! I go into B&BW occasionally in the hopes of finding Velvet Tuberose or White Tea & Ginger, but they’re apparently not available in my mall (or in any mall, perhaps?), and every time I go in I’m just overwhelmed by all the smells, but I will have to try this out 🙂

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

