The Wednesday Wigeon

The Wednesday Wigeon No.61

1. What’s your favorite sport to watch in the Olympics?

If you’re sick of hearing about the Olympics, feel free to let your eyes pass over this question 😛

Mine is a tossup between women’s gymnastics and swimming.  I know that’s such a typical answer, but there’s a reason everyone loves those sports!  They don’t drag on for 9 billion years, they’re fairly easy for everyone to understand (and if not, the announcers do a decent job explaining), and they’re exciting.

2. Your biggest accomplishment this week:

Braving the hardware store so I could make awesome jewelry.  I didn’t end up using the hex nuts I bought there.  But still, I went to the hardware store.  And I made a bracelet:

SA: What are you looking for?
Me: Brass hex nuts.
SA: What size?
Me: The smallest size?
SA: We have *hardware lingo that didn’t process.* Which one?
Me: The small one?  blink blink

See the tutorial here.  It’s harder than it looks, but definitely doable.

3. Do you/did you ever write in a journal?

No, I much prefer to use journals as notebooks.  I tried the journal thing a few times, but couldn’t get into it.  I’d rather write memos, grocery shopping lists, and spur-of-the-moment ideas.

To take part in TWW, copy/paste the questions and answer them in the comments below!

1. What’s your favorite sport to watch in the Olympics?
2. Your biggest accomplishment this week:
3. Do you/did you ever write in a journal?

Love,
MM &

34 thoughts on “The Wednesday Wigeon No.61

  1. 1. What’s your favorite sport to watch in the Olympics?
    I like gymnastics, too – ever since I was a kid! Recently I’ve discovered that diving is pretty fun to watch. I think it’s all pretty exciting, though! S. likes to watch track and field, so we end up watching that, too.
    2. Your biggest accomplishment this week:
    Hm. Hm. Get back to me later 😛 It’s only Wednesday! I could be saving my accomplishments for the second half of the week. ._. (But prolly not T_T)
    3. Do you/did you ever write in a journal?
    I kind of do the same thing – write down thoughts and lists and etc., not every day, but occasionally.

    • Synchronized diving is awesome. But it doesn’t quite make it to ‘favorites’ level for me. hahaha your accomplishment can be getting through the week! Or making that blueberry sauce, god that sounds so good.

  2. 1. What’s your favorite sport to watch in the Olympics?
    Rowing! I used to row and miss it. those 8 man boats are freakin’ heavy I tell you. We had to carry them from the boathouse to the water and I had massive bruises on one shoulder.
    2. Your biggest accomplishment this week: Hmmm, not sleeping in so late? 😛 I haven’t really done much this week truthfully. I love your bracelet!
    3. Do you/did you ever write in a journal? Yes when I was in elementary school. After I read Harriet The Spy, I wanted to be her so I wrote down everything haha. Wish I still had that thing! Wouldn’t it be fun to read little Trakee’s thoughts now? 😛

    • You used to row?? WHY ARE YOU SO AWESOME TRAKEE. hehehe yes, they do look quite heavy. I don’t even need to try lifting one to guess that. Thank you!

      I remember reading Harriet The Spy! I wanted to be her too. But not enough to write in a journal hahaha. I would like to read little Trakee’s thoughts. If you ever find that, you should publish it and I will buy ALL THE COPIES.

  3. 1. What’s your favorite sport to watch in the Olympics?

    I’m not really watching any right now due to time constraints but I like gymnastics and swimming, too – because you don’t have to commit to sitting for four hours to watch a match. They nail a landing or make the smallest splash while diving all in milliseconds!!

    2. Your biggest accomplishment this week:

    I JUST finished a very intense course on Trollope’s Barshetshire novels. Am drinking a lot of wine right now to celebrate with a midnight meal. 🙂

    3. Do you/did you ever write in a journal?

    I journalled all the time pre-internet. I learned the hard way that one should not journal sentimental adolescent thoughts on a notebook emblazoned with “MY DIARY” in giant sparkly block letters on the cover. One day I came home to find my mom and sister rolling on the floor over its contents and it still makes me angry to this day! (I was in Gr. 7 and hopelessly crushing on a boy who is now a Facebook friend, lol.)

    • Exactly! It’s instant gratification. Enjoy that wine, you deserve it! Was the 900 page novel part of that course? And omg I used to be so paranoid about that too, which is why I never committed to writing in my diaries. Did you go Liz Hulk smash over that? 😛

  4. 1. What’s your favorite sport to watch in the Olympics?
    Gymnastics, hands down! I love it because it’s not only a sport, but it’s also art. Those elegant lines and perfect body form — ugh, gorgeous! I also like watching swimming.

    2. Your biggest accomplishment this week:
    I finally posted nail swatches of Zoya’s Pinterest Trio. Haha! I know, that was forever ago.

    3. Do you/did you ever write in a journal?
    I used to. Well, I have this One Line a Day journal that I’m supposed to write in every day, but I fail hard at it. Sometimes, several weeks go by and then I have to go back and try to remember what I did three weeks ago. 😛

    • So true! I love watching the Russian gymnasts especially because their choreography is always so good. Yay! What is this Pinterest Trio you speak of, I’ll have to check it out. Oh, those One Line a Day journals are so cool, you could always use it as a notebook instead though.

  5. 1. What’s your favorite sport to watch in the Olympics?
    Gymnastics has always been my favorite. I have some great memories watching it. I’ve been enjoying diving and swimming though. Gymnastics and diving are so technical and precise and it’s incredible to see what the human body can do.

    2. Your biggest accomplishment this week: Nothing comes to mind. I have some things in the works though.

    3. Do you/did you ever write in a journal? All the time. I’ve written in both word document journals and physical ones. I don’t write daily though.

  6. 1. What’s your favorite sport to watch in the Olympics?
    Women’s gymnastics, definitely! Uneven bars and floor in particular.
    2. Your biggest accomplishment this week:
    Um…realizing that chocolate has lactose in it, and that I will therefore need to take lactase when I want to eat chocolate. Yeah, duh, shouldn’t have required realizing, but there ya have it. And yes, I’m pretty sure that is the biggest thing I’ve done this week––it’s not been a great week, ha!
    3. Do you/did you ever write in a journal?
    I used to try, and I would do it for about 2 weeks before just stopping entirely. I had to keep one for a term in high school, which I did regularly since there was a grade attached, but besides that, I don’t generally feel the need to write beyond what I do for the blog!

  7. 1. What’s your favorite sport to watch in the Olympics?
    I’m not really following the Olympics, but if I had to, I’d watch volleyball and women’s gymnastics.

    2. Your biggest accomplishment this week:
    Can’t think of anything yet. But I love your bracelet, it’s beautiful!

    3. Do you/did you ever write in a journal?
    I tried to a few times, but I always stopped after a few weeks lol.

    • I can’t really get into volleyball because it takes too long hahah, but I do watch Misty-May and Kerri Walsh play beach volleyball occasionally. Thank you! I had fun making it.

  8. 1) Gymnastics! 🙂 Actually my favorite is figure skating, but too bad it’s summer haha
    2) I don’t know if I have much accomplished this week. Was sick the other day so that infringed on my plans. I totally made two of those bracelets last summer, not bad! Thankfully the bf knew what to look for in the hardware store lol!
    3) When I was in elementary school, definitely! I use cute journal books to take notes for the blog now, but i also use apps for it too. Not sure what I like better, I think I prefer a nice notebook! I used to fill them up with to do lists, calendars etc for work/school/extracurricular projects etc and that was pretty extensive and epic. Lol!

    • ohh yeah I love watching the winter sports. 2 more years! Hope you’re feeling better now 😀 LOL I was just wandering around like a lost child. Did you use twine or suede cording? And what diid you use for the clasp? Does sound quite epic!

      • Fortunately, I did a lot of jewelry making in my younger years, so it was not bad! I just looked for the aisles with the small stuff, lol. I would’ve wandered longer if the boyfriend hadn’t pulled me away from looking at things that were not it lol. But that was at home depot which is i suppose more contained/easier than if you were to go to a hardware store with tons of stuff in many aisles lol. I used twine from there, but i think suede cording would be prettier. Also I supposed you could use that friendship bracelet string? I made a knot with a loop when i started it and then when you’re done you can just tie a hook/lobster clasp that you link to the loop. If that makes sense. I’m not very good at describing these things.

          • if you do the loop when you start then no, you just have to tie the bracelet to the end of the clasp. (You do the loop by making your string length longer, folding it in half and doing a regular knot there? I just told my boyfriend about your hex nut shopping experience and he says that you should have asked for cute ones. LOL!

          • oh awesome! That will save me tons of trouble, thanks. hahahha I didn’t even end up using the ones I bought groannn. They were zinc and I didn’t know if that would irritate my skin, so I special ordered some brass and stainless steel ones. Le sigh.

          • Hope my sad, long instructions help lol. I could SO not be a DIY blogger. Well maybe if i thought about it and had good photos lol. Good idea ordering the brass/stainless – my boyfriend had some irritation after wearing the bracelet nonstop for a month or two. I don’t think I did!

  9. 1. What’s your favorite sport to watch in the Olympics?
    LOL–well, I guess I’ll go with the typical answer as well and say first gymnastics, then swimming 😛 Just finished catching up on my men’s gymnastics tonight–SO awesome!!!
    2. Your biggest accomplishment this week:
    So far? Staying sane.
    3. Do you/did you ever write in a journal?
    I used to write in journals all the time…but about 5 or 6 years ago I was going through a rough patch and kind of stopped. I should really pick that up again…

    PS: that hex nut bracelet is SO awesome, MM!!! I am no DIYer, but I actually want to give this a try! I think it would be so cute to use a neon string with the brass color of the hex nut–so perfect for summer! 😀 I’m copying this one!!

    • hahahah the typical answer is typical for a reason 😛 Men’s gymnastics was so depressing to me though, everyone looked so tired! Staying sane is always a good thing. Definitely pick it up again if it’s something you used to enjoy 😀 And thank you! I’m not a huge DIYer either, but I really love these. Let me know how it turns out!

  10. Good morning! I love the bracelet you made, MM! Awesome!

    1. What’s your favorite sport to watch in the Olympics?

    Gymnastics and synchronized diving. Well, all of it is pretty good in one way or another, but those are my favorites.

    2. Your biggest accomplishment this week:

    Good question. I guess I accomplished setting some goals. Like, I’ve decided I want to learn how to do a handstand. (That may or may not have entered my head after watching Olympics gymnastics….okay, it did.)

    3. Do you/did you ever write in a journal?

    Yes. I have a box of journals in my storage closet. But you’ll find that each is barely written in. It’s like, I liked collecting the journals more than actually writing in them. Most of what’s written in them is a lot of “Well, it’s been a year since I last wrote in here, so this is a summary of what’s happened…”

    I honestly wish I would have written in them more often because my long term memory is terrible. I’d like to go back and reminisce.

    • Thanks Trisha! Synchronized diving is pretty fun to watch, but I still love swimming more. hahahah it’s an awesome goal, I definitely wish I could do even one of the skills those girls perform. I feel ya, those journals are too pretty to resist 🙂

  11. 1. What’s your favorite sport to watch in the Olympics?
    Oh I love gymnastics. So proud of the women’s team USA. And volleyball too!! Oh and the horse courses…oh and just everything!

    2. Your biggest accomplishment this week:

    Getting/starting a new job, Yay!

    3. Do you/did you ever write in a journal?
    I always have but I don’t update too frequently. I should write more though!

    Hope you are having a good week MM!

    • The women’s US gymnastics team is just amazing. I haven’t watched the horse courses, probably because I’m usually snoozing in bed when those are on (eek). Congrats on your new job! What are you doing? Hope you’re having a good week as well 😀

  12. Love that bracelet! Great job!! 😀

    1. What’s your favorite sport to watch in the Olympics?
    Same as you: women’s gymnastics and swimming!

    2. Your biggest accomplishment this week:
    I seriously cannot think of one so I will just say doing my “Empties” post…hahaha! 😛

    3. Do you/did you ever write in a journal?
    I kept a diary as a kid. Does that count? 😉

  13. 1. What’s your favorite sport to watch in the Olympics?
    – I don’t have cable, so I haven’t seen a THING. It’s sick, I know.

    2. Your biggest accomplishment this week:
    – This is lame, but I drove a seadoo on the weekend, and not just drove it, but rocked it out bad-ass style, and it was my first time. I can’t stop thinking about it, it was AWESOME 😀

    3. Do you/did you ever write in a journal?
    – Have since grade 7 and still do from time to time, though not as much as I like. Seems that once I got a steady BF with little drama I don’t have as many interesting things to write about LOL!

    And that bracelet is effing cool!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You’re my hero.

    • Wait, you don’t get the Olympics at all? I don’t have cable either, I don’t even have Dish satellite, but we get it over local antenna TV. That sucks 😦 You drove a seadoo??? Ahhh dude, I want to be you! Tell me more about your seadoo adventures 😀

      Thanks Toya! I’m pretty proud of it lol

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

