Lips / Mid End

Violent Lips | As Scary as They Sound?

Violent Lips, violently strewn about

Guys, I could have sworn I already wrote and published a review on these, but it appears I deleted it instead of publishing.  Ugh.  Double ugh.  Quadruple ugh.  I even listed out all the foods I ate while testing these out!  Oh well, here we go.  Take 2:

Have you heard of Violent Lips?  While the phrase conjures up images of leering lips bearing sharp knives coming to get you (no?  Just me?), I can promise that these lip tattoos are not at all scary to wear.  They come in a ton of designs, ranging from glitter to flags to text-on-color.

For my first lip tattoo, I chose the nautical-looking Blue & White Anchor design.  Coincidentally, it’s now on sale for $7.99 (3-pack).

Application instructions are printed on the back, but for a more thorough demonstration, watch this video.  One thing I changed from the application instructions was the cutting bit.  You’re supposed to cut along the dotted lines for best fit, but let’s be honest, everyone’s lips are shaped differently.  Even with the multiple levels of dotted lines, I was unable to get the perfect fit.  I’d recommend you ignore those, and eyeball a shape that best fits your mouth.

As you can see, placement was a little off on my first try.  I had cut along the dotted lines, and the fit wasn’t as good as I wanted it to be.  So take my advice, cut the tattoo to fit your lips even if you’re going straight through the lines.  Even so, I thought they looked pretty good on, good enough that I left them on for the duration of the day.  The little anchor looks cute with the blue and white strips, doesn’t it?

According to the company, you and eat, drink, and kiss while wearing these.  While I don’t want to rain on anyone’s parade, I would just like to say these probably aren’t the way to go if you’re trying to get someone to kiss you.  Eating and drinking, however, did not pose a problem.  These lasted the promised 6 hours on me, to my great delight.  They did start cracking a little bit as time wore on, but the cracks weren’t noticeable unless I smiled.  The tattoos are more comfortable than I had anticipated, but they are definitely noticeable.  It felt as if I had a thin coating of paper over my lips, and while they didn’t dry out my lips, they made my lips feel dry.  I’m not making any sense, am I?

Violent Lips are not going to be everyone’s cup of tea, but I think they’re quite fun for parties or artsy makeup looks.  Application is fairly straightforward, and once the lips have dried and ‘set,’ you don’t need to worry about them too much.  I like the wide range of designs, each of which is sold in a pack of 3.  My biggest reservation is the price; at $14.95 per pack, these don’t come cheap.  However, there is an extensive sale section, plus the more affordably priced Game Day options.  If you’re looking for a fun lip to wear to a party, with a design you probably wouldn’t be able to do on your own, I’d recommend you give these a shot.

Would you wear Violent Lips?  What’s your favorite design?

Full Disclosure: The products in this post were submitted for editorial consideration and review.  For more information, please see my disclaimer.

37 thoughts on “Violent Lips | As Scary as They Sound?

  1. First I had a chuckle at your “violently strewn” bit and now I’m DYING of a giggle fit at the blue stripes. But what really set me off is how eerily similar your usual lip swatches are to the pics of the Violent Lips packaging!! This is a novel idea but of course way too scary for me. LOL – okay, send the ROFLCOPTER to take me away!

  2. that looks cool on you! That’s surprising. I’m so not into these in general, but I think if a person is well put together (like you must be lol!) then it could be edgy/cool. I’ve seen them on people a few times and its just weird to me, although I guess slightly less so if you actually fit it to your lips (cause what i’ve seen they haven’t!) I agree, I think these would only be practical for some sort of theme event…. and in my head they sound uncomfortable even if they aren’t! LOL.

  3. Halloween, maybe? Or some sort of party/scenario that will make this not out of this world (which I guess would need to be an out of this world party). AM I JUST STODGY AND OLD?

    Also:
    ” It felt as if I had a thin coating of paper over my lips, and while they didn’t dry out my lips, they made my lips feel dry. I’m not making any sense, am I?”

    You, my dear, make all the sense in the world!

    • HAHAHAH, yes, an out of this world party would be an appropriate venue! And you are just about the last person on earth I’d call stodgy and old. Distinguished and dignified, maybe 😛

      Thank you! Affirmation!

  4. These definitely aren’t for the faint of heart! I like the nautical design though (and I’ve been meaning to try a similar nail art idea). Unfortunately, I don’t get invited to parties where I would wear something crazy on my lips… But hey, there’s always Halloween. 😉

  5. Wow….kudos for being so adventurous in trying this for a review in the first place. Sounds like a great thing to have for Halloween….but other times, I’m not so sure. I laughed at the part where you said this is not the way to go if you wanna get kissed!!LOL!

    • Hey, I’ll try anything once! Except crackle polish. And caviar nails, I think I would go crazy trying to pick the beads off. It really isn’t LOL, can you imagine batting your eyelashes while puckering your blue-and-white striped lips? Errr, no.

  6. Hahaha! Those stripes…it’s a bit much for me. I don’t think I get this whole lip art thing either (I’m with ya, Paris!). And LOL at the kissing bit. Yeah, I don’t think S would be keen on that.

      • They have some tamer designs, but I wanted to go all out. HAHAHAHHA I have a visual image of Dennison with a little red anchor on his furry lil cheek. It’s kinda cute. I don’t think these would come off if you kissed someone though. Maybe if you were like…mauling them…

  7. AHAHA I think these are hilarious and why not? Makeup is all about expression so if someone want to wear these nautical lips whilst sailing on their yacht then I say go for it. I’d wear them if I had a yacht. Or even a canoe. 🙂

    • That’s the spirit! 😀 “if someone want to wear these nautical lips whilst sailing on their yacht” hahahahhaha, omg I love you. I would gladly canoe with you. It would be grand.

  8. I’ve sent these online but never a real review until now so thanks! 🙂 Love that nautical look you got going on there. I’d probably rock these at a party or some crazy bash.

  9. Hmmmm. These look really cool, but the hassle of cutting and applying and dry-feeling lips with papery texture doesn’t sound all that appealing to me…though I will say I’m tempted to get some of the green and yellow ones for when I finally make it to a UO football game, since I’m pretty sure that would excuse me from having to do anything else school spirit-y!

  10. Ha, when I first read this I thought you said ‘natural-looking,’ not ‘nautical-looking’ LOL. Whoops!

    Ok, so I’m all about doing creative things now, so I *should* be saying I’m all over these – but I think this isn’t exactly what I mean LOL! I think they’d be great for some kind of really intense special occasion (Halloween, or New Years or something), but on the whole – probably no, I wouldn’t wear these. But I LOVE that you rocked these out for a day, that’s so cool and fun!! I think you have the right lips for these too, somehow ~creeper~

    • HAHAHAHHA definitely not natural looking! Intense social occasion, omg why are you so awesome? Yeah now that Liz said it and I’m looking at the picture…my lips do creepily resemble the Violent Lips lips a little bit. Maybe I can lip model for them LOL

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

