Beauty News

Nail Art News From NYFW

nyfw-nail-art-nonoo-620x650

Happy almost-Monday, ladies! If you’re a longtime reader, you know I usually leave fashion week coverage to the pros (read: not me, especially not after spending half the day taking accidental naps). But since it’s the weekend and I’d like to look at some pretty things before falling asleep on top of A Brief History of Time, let’s take a moment to quickly recap some seriously pretty nail art from Day 2 of NYFW—created by nail artist Gina Edwards with a rainbow of Morgan Taylor polishes.

First there was the dreamy mint manicure at Nonoo, inspired by German painter Gerhard Richter (automatic brownie points) and capped off with a marbleized accent nail. The whole thing is so pretty and fresh that whatever your feelings toward the accent nail, you have to admit this is an excellent use of it (on a sidenote, I’m also digging the makeup going on up there). Edwards topped off the base shade, aptly named Mint Chocolate Chip, with a combination of All White Now, Later Alligator, and Luxe Be A Lady.

nyfw-nail-art-carmen-marc-valvo

Then we have this modern French manicure at Carmen Marc Valvo. Traditional French manicures make me die a little inside (tell me I’m not alone in this), but this version works because the nail shape is kept short and round, with just the thinnest stripe of black (Little Black Dress) at the top. The base color (In The Nude) is on point as well, pale and pinkish, although I wouldn’t have minded seeing a creamy tan here either.

And since it wouldn’t be spring beauty without the appearance of a full-on nude nail, the fingertips at TOME are last on tonight’s list. Each “foundation-shade” polish was custom mixed by Morgan Taylor to match the model’s skin tone. Umm, does someone want to mix one for me?

nyfw-nail-art-tome

What’s your favorite nail moment from NYFW so far? Can we talk about finding the perfect nude polish? Let’s catch up in the comments!

xo,
MM

8 thoughts on “Nail Art News From NYFW

  1. I’m obsessed with nail art right now, I think it’s really trending in the world and people everywhere are becoming more prone to having there nails all decked out. I love the ice cream mint, such a amazing shade and perfect for spring.

  2. I’m still on the hunt for the perfect nude, so I end up mixing a sheer pink and a darker nude together when I want one. Great little recap 🙂

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

