EOTD (Eye of the Day) / Eyes / High End

For Charlotte Tilbury, I’ll Do a Smoky Eye

full disclosure press sample disclaimer

So…I’ve been gone. What happened? NYFW (and before that, my first spray tan) happened! (A few beauty recaps here: subtle nail art at Tadashi Shoji & Creatures of the Wind, boyish brows at Rachel Comey, fresh ’60s hair at Lisa Perry, electric blue cat eyes at Honor, gorgeous poppy lips at Tanya Taylor, mermaid face at Thakoon and the hyper-idealized version of I-just-got-up-complexion at 3.1 Phillip Lim). Oh, and if you want skin like the models at Fashion Week, here’s how to tailor your diet accordingly.

Something else I’ve been catching up on is Paris’ Biennale des Antiquaires, which I live in mortal fear of misspelling. It’s one of the world’s most exclusive art fairs, and at this point, you’re probably wondering why I’m rambling on about this when the title of this post lists Charlotte Tilbury and smoky eyes. Well, longtime readers know it takes me about five paragraphs to get to my main point, so feel free to skip ahead. But to bring it back to beauty: Francis Kurkdjian scented the fountain at the Grand Palais according to this year’s theme, the gardens of Versailles. I find the entire thing fascinating—in fact, this is probably the most excited I’ve been about a fountain ever, and was delighted to chat with Kurkdjian on the inspiration behind the project. More here!

For Charlotte Tilbury, I'll Do a Smoky Eye via Makeup Morsels

Ok, now we can talk about Charlotte Tilbury, the legendary makeup artist (who I had the pleasure of interviewing) and creator of the eponymous, wildly popular makeup line that’s finally made its way over to US shores (online online at the moment). It’s an extensive range split up into 10 different looks with names like The Dolce Vita and The Rock Chick. I—or rather, Charlotte—already covered how the line is broken down on the interview linked up there, so today I wanted to bring you a more in-depth look at a few products from The Rock Chick set.

Truthfully, I’m not a big proponent of the smoky eye on myself, or anything that requires pulling out brushes. The palette in question has to be next-level amazing for me to even consider using more than one color, and those are a rare breed in my makeup collection. There’s also the well-known fact that committing to a daily eyeshadow routine interferes with things like eating pasta for breakfast (not very Rock Chick of me, but whatever).

The weird thing is, the grey-tinged, smoky cast of this Luxury Palette ($52) doesn’t really speak to me. And the individual colors, while pretty, don’t seem all that special on first glance. But what Charlotte is clearly a pro at is pairing the right colors together, so that no matter how you layer them, you get the most flattering result ever. Here’s the daytime rendition:

For Charlotte Tilbury, I'll Do a Smoky Eye via Makeup Morsels

At night, I like to amp it up more and even pat on some of that glittery silver shade—which admittedly, doesn’t get much use otherwise. It makes sense, however, with the other three colors, and the same seems to hold true with the other palettes she’s put together.

If you’re looking for some solid staples, I highly recommend her Feline Flick Quick Fine Line Shodō Pen ($29) and Full Fat Lashes 5 Star Mascara in Glossy Black ($29). The liquid liner is a cross between a thin calligraphy brush and a stiffer felt-tip pen, making it easy to maneuver across your eyelids. The color is also the perfect deep, inky black. If you’re curious about the shade depth in comparison to similar liners, check out this post from The Beauty Look Book. And the mascara, I know! $29 for a mascara that you have to throw out in three months seems absurd, but if you tend toward pricier formulas anyway, this gives you fat, fluffy lashes just as promised.

For Charlotte Tilbury, I'll Do a Smoky Eye via Makeup Morsels

And that’s a wrap for today. Have you checked out the Charlotte Tilbury makeup line yet? What’s on your makeup radar lately?

Full disclosure: The Charlotte Tilbury products featured in this post are press samples. All opinions are my own. For my complete review policy, please refer to my disclaimer.

10 thoughts on “For Charlotte Tilbury, I’ll Do a Smoky Eye

  1. This is the quad I am kind of eyeing, but at the same time I’m worried it’s too grey for me! I still haven’t tried anything from the brand yet. I’m waiting for something to really move me 😉

    • I thought it was going to be way too grey for me, but for some reason it works! Also looks slightly more neutral on the eyelids than it does swatched on the arm/in-pan. Let me know if anything moves you 😉

    • Definitely a lot of support from MUAs, but I have to say I was very impressed by the amount of passion Charlotte had for the line. I think she created something she would be proud to put her name on, the quality is pretty consistent across the range. And she made greys that don’t look like death on me, so bonus points 😀

    • Darn! I sometimes forget that I’ve been practicing the flick for such a long time now that I’m not exactly a liquid liner beginner anymore. Hope you get the hang of it with each application 🙂 I like to hold it at a slight angle to the eyelid and do several connecting strokes.

Chime in! (no self promotional links please)

